Traditional Iranian Martial Arts (Varzesh-e Pahlavani)

Timeline - Contemporary Era

Some of the most famous Pahlavans of all time appeared in this era (1800-Present) such as Pahlavan-e Bozorg Razaz, Pahlavan Boloorforoush, Pahlavan Toosi and Jahan Pahlavan Takhti.

Varzesh-e Pahlavani reached its peak during the reign of Naser-e-din Shah of Qajar (1848-1896). During this period many Zoorkanehs were built in Tehran and throughout Iran. The official Pahlavan of Iran was determined on March 21st of each year (the first day of the Iranian new year) in a wrestling competition conducted in front of the Shah, and the Shah himself would give the Pahlavani Armlet (Bazoo-band) to the champion of the competition.

The above picture shows an Armlet which became part of the pahlavani institution during Qajar Dynasty. This particular one is taken from the Armlet that was given to Gholamreza Takhti when he became Iran's Pahlavan in 1959 for the third consecutive time. We will adopt this portrait as the icon representing the traditional Iranian martial arts in the Contemporary Era.

Major Pahlavans during Qajar Dynasty (Period 1796 - 1896)

Major Pahlavans during Qajar Dynasty (Period 1896 - 1925)

Major Pahlavans during Pahlavi Regime (Period 1925 - 1979)

[Back to Pahlavani Timeline]

Copyright ©, 2002
Copyright © Sportestan Publishing, 1997
All rights reserved